Milestones - History - Development

2022
Reopening on Saturday, 5 February 2022
For the first time, the Children's Zoo will remain open for 10 months - until Sunday, 27 November 2022.

New:

  • 'Feeding and more' - giraffe special: personal guided tour, tour of the enclosure and exclusive feeding. 
  • 'Unique and exclusive' - elephants up close: outside the daytime programme, be virtually eye-to-eye with our elephants
  • Bubble Tea in the Flamingo Bar & Lounge from Easter 2022
  • Knies Zauberhut: the new, multi-functional event location is developing nicely and is delighting our customers/partners. Knies Zauberhut is recognized by the industry as one of the best event locations with an award
  • Elephant birth: on May 7, 2022, little KAMON - the heart - sees the light of day. Mother Sandry gives birth to a healthy, particularly playful bull. Father Mekong provides thereby for the 1st time for new generation in Knies Kinderzoo. A 3-part series on the CHMEDIA channels announces the good news. The elephant diary on www.knieskinderzoo.ch enjoys great popularity: more than 100,000 clicks testify to this. The regular posts via social media reach a large fan base. The christening will take place during the 2022 fall vacations.
  • Rothschild Giraffes: On September 3, 2022, Knies Kinderzoo records the 26th birth overall in the Rothschild giraffe territory. Joy and Bobo become parents for the 3rd time. The little giraffe bull is named UMTALI and stands on his still wobbly legs after about 45 minutes. The first drinking attempts take place already 90 minutes after birth (gestation period 14 months).
  • Bactrian camels: Also here we may already report 3 births during the season 2022.
  • Saimiris: a new breeding group from the EEP is moving in with the squirrel monkeys. The Saimiri boliviensis will populate the spacious facility from mid-September 2022.
  • The COOP Children's Days will take place again on the weekend of 24/25/9/2022. Ja-Ma-Du and his friends guarantee fun & games with a free entrance for all children.
  • GLOBI: in cooperation with the Chocolarium in Flaw

 

2021
After hard times, Knies Kinderzoo is delighted to reopen its doors
on Monday, 1 March 2021.

To ensure that our guests feel safe and can enjoy their visit to the zoo, appropriate Covid protection concepts have been drawn up. The basic rules such as mandatory masks, distance and hygiene rules remain in place until further notice.

Children's zoo catering is switching to take-away, and consumption in the restaurants and on the terraces will remain prohibited until the end of March 2021.

Knies Kinderzoo offers elephant, pony and camel rides as well as horse-drawn tram rides again.

The new adventure playground has been completed, as has the Bank Linth swing park.

Knies Zauberhut may not yet be put into operation, nor will the parrot flight show take place. The opening of the 'Flamingo Bar&Lounge' will also have to wait a little longer.

Feedings, guided tours, workshops or other group activities are only possible during the season.

 

2020
The Corona virus is making life difficult for us, the zoo's opening has to be postponed several times. The reopening on 8 June 2020 is subject to very specific conditions and legal requirements.

Knies Kinderzoo celebrates '100 years of KNIE elephants' with the Elephant Parade in Rapperswil (Fischmarktplatz) and Zurich (airport, main station). The grand auction gala at Himmapan Lodge in aid of a unique elephant conservation project in Asia will round off the parade. Franco Knie and Kurt Müller (curator) publish the new book '100 Years of KNIE Elephants'. Immerse yourself in 'augmented reality' and bring the pictures to life. Signed books are available exclusively in the webshop.

Souvenir assortment, sticker, button and special stamp for the anniversary '100 years of KNIE elephants' are produced.

From the EEP for Asian elephants, breeding bull MEKONG arrives in Rapperswil at the end of May.

The new swing playground, suitable for the disabled, is opened (max. 5 people). Pony riding - structured and with alternating riding tracks - now takes place on the shores of the Obersee, as does camel riding.

Knies Zauberhut is under construction and will open in autumn 2020 (www.knieszauberhut.ch).

'Knee's Christmas Zoo' is postponed by one year.

Season start 2021: Saturday, 6 March 2021

 

2019
The celebrations of '100 years of Swiss National-Circus Knie' take centre stage.

A completely new recycling concept is being developed: 'Keep nature clean, for the sake of my habitat!'

The signage has also been completely renewed with a corporate design based on the education system. Our children's birthday party has been upgraded, and the activities are now adapted to the age groups and individual needs of our guests.

Since 1997, the Patagonian sea lions of the Duss Sealions Family have been an important part of the attractions. In 2019, the group will perform for the last time together with their trainers Luis and Gonzalo in Knies Kinderzoo .

The Otarium will give way to a futuristic new building by 2020. Information about the project will be provided in due course.

 

2018
Research, observe, discover - equipped with binoculars, a zoo map and game instructions, the young and old researchers set off on the new zoo safari (18 animal posts) made possible by the commitment of Energie360°.

Enrichment or technology for the animals; a groundbreaking project for the zoo industry! In collaboration with students and engineers from the HSR Rapperswil, new, creative activity modules will be introduced for the giraffes (feeding ropeway), elephants (rattle) and cheetahs (solar ball) over the course of the season.

Birthday party for pirates, ship ahoy! Noah's Ark became the Children's Zoo Pirate Ship, probably one of the most extraordinary locations to celebrate an unforgettable birthday.

A day as an animal keeper, this is how you get to know the everyday life and work of our animal keepers in close contact with our animals, exclusively for 1 person incl. elephant riding, team polo and souvenir photo.

Launch of the new, modern, up-to-date and customer-friendly ticketing system; tickets can now also be purchased at the PP ticket machines in the South Quarter.

Two new PP fields for electric vehicles with charging stations will be available from early summer 2018 in cooperation with Energie360°.

The 1962 logo with the whale now appears as a visual advertising presence to the outside world in the striking fluorescent colours yellow, blue and pink; the 2018 campaign focuses on nationwide poster, radio and TV advertising plus print and online presence.

Under the headline "as a family, recognise the tried and tested and discover the new", Franco Knie and his twins Nina&Timothy take centre stage as the protagonists of the new radio and TV spot.

Jalons - Histoire - Développement

2022
Réouverture le samedi 5 février 2022
Pour la première fois, le zoo des enfants restera ouvert 10 mois - jusqu'au dimanche 27 novembre 2022.

Nouveau

  • Nourrir et plus' - Spécial girafes : visite guidée personnelle, visite de l'installation ainsi que nourrissage exclusif 
  • Unique et exclusif' - les éléphants tout près : en dehors du programme de la journée, être quasiment nez à nez avec nos éléphants
  • Bubble-Tea au Flamingo Bar & Lounge à partir de Pâques 2022
  • Knies Zauberhutle nouveau lieu événementiel multifonctionnel se développe de manière réjouissante et enthousiasme nos clients/partenaires. Knies Zauberhut est récompensé par le secteur comme l'un des meilleurs lieux événementiels.
  • Naissance d'un éléphant : le 7 mai 2022, le petit KAMON - le cœur - voit le jour. La mère Sandry donne naissance à un mâle en bonne santé et particulièrement joueur. Le père Mekong assure ainsi pour la première fois une descendance à Knies Kinderzoo. Une série de 3 épisodes diffusés sur les chaînes CHMEDIA annonce la bonne nouvelle. Le journal des éléphants sur www.knieskinderzoo.ch jouit d'une grande popularité : plus de 100'000 clics en témoignent. Les posts réguliers via les médias sociaux atteignent une grande communauté de fans. Le baptême aura lieu pendant les vacances d'automne 2022.
  • Les girafes de Rothschild : Le 3 septembre 2022, Knies Kinderzoo enregistre la 26e naissance au total sur le territoire des girafes de Rothschild. Joy et Bobo deviennent parents pour la troisième fois. Le petit girafon mâle reçoit le nom d'UMTALI et se dresse après environ 45 minutes sur ses pattes encore chancelantes. Les premières tentatives de boire ont lieu 90 minutes après la naissance (durée de gestation : 14 mois).
  • Piétine : ici aussi, nous pouvons déjà annoncer 3 naissances pendant la saison 2022.
  • Saimiris : un nouveau groupe d'élevage de l'EEP s'installe chez les saïmiris à tête de mort. Les Saimiri boliviensis peupleront la vaste installation à partir de la mi-septembre 2022.
  • Les journées des enfants COOP auront à nouveau lieu le week-end du 24/25.9.2022. Ja-Ma-Du et ses amis garantissent jeu & amusement avec une entrée gratuite pour tous les enfants.
  • GLOBI : en coopération avec le Chocolarium de Flaw

 

2021
Après des temps difficiles, Knies Kinderzoo rouvre ses portes avec grand plaisir
le lundi 1er mars 2021.

Afin que nos visiteurs se sentent en sécurité et puissent profiter de leur visite au zoo, des concepts de protection Covid appropriés ont été élaborés. Les règles de base telles que l'obligation de porter un masque, les règles de distance et d'hygiène restent en vigueur jusqu'à nouvel ordre.

La restauration du zoo pour enfants passe à la vente à emporter, la consommation dans les restaurants et sur les terrasses reste interdite jusqu'à fin mars 2021.

Knies Kinderzoo propose à nouveau les promenades à dos d'éléphant, de poney et de chameau ainsi que le Rösslitram.

La nouvelle aire de jeux d'aventure est terminée, tout comme le parc de balançoires Bank Linth.

Knies Zauberhut ne peut pas encore être mis en service, tout comme le spectacle de vol de perroquets. L'ouverture du 'Flamingo Bar&Lounge' doit également attendre un peu.

Les nourrissages, visites guidées, ateliers ou autres activités de groupe ne sont possibles qu'au cours de la saison.

 

2020
Le virus Corona nous mène la vie dure et la réouverture du zoo doit être reportée à plusieurs reprises. La réouverture le 8 juin 2020 se fera dans des conditions très précises et conformément à la loi.

Knies Kinderzoo célèbre '100 ans d'éléphants KNIE' avec, entre autres, la Elephant Parade à Rapperswil (Fischmarktplatz) et à Zurich (aéroport, gare centrale). Le grand gala de vente aux enchères au Himmapan Lodge au profit d'un projet unique de protection des éléphants en Asie complète la parade. Franco Knie et Kurt Müller (curateur) publient le nouveau livre '100 ans d'éléphants KNIE'. Plongez dans la 'réalité augmentée' et donnez vie aux images. Les livres signés sont disponibles en exclusivité dans la boutique en ligne.

L'assortiment de souvenirs, les autocollants, le badge et le timbre spécial pour le jubilé '100 ans d'éléphants KNIE' sont produits.

Le mâle reproducteur MEKONG, issu de l'EEP pour éléphants d'Asie, arrive à Rapperswil fin mai.

La nouvelle aire de jeux à balançoires, accessible aux personnes handicapées, est ouverte (5 personnes maximum). Les promenades à poney - structurées et avec des pistes alternées - ont désormais lieu sur les rives du lac supérieur, tout comme les promenades à dos de chameau.

Knies Zauberhut est en cours de construction et ouvrira ses portes à l'automne 2020 (www.knieszauberhut.ch).

Le 'Zoo de Noël de Knie' est repoussé d'un an

Début de la saison 2021 : samedi 6 mars 2021

 

2019
Les festivités du 'Centenaire de la Nation suisseCircus Knie' seront au centre de l'attention.

Un tout nouveau concept de recyclage est élaboré : 'Maintenir la nature propre, pour l'amour de mon espace vital !

La signalisation sera également entièrement renouvelée avec un Corporate Design s'appuyant sur le système d'éducation. Notre fête d'anniversaire pour enfants a été revalorisée et les activités sont désormais adaptées aux classes d'âge et aux besoins individuels de nos hôtes.

Depuis 1997, les otaries de Patagonie de la Duss Sealions Family font partie intégrante des attractions. En 2019, le groupe se produira pour la dernière fois à Knies Kinderzoo avec ses dresseurs Luis et Gonzalo.

L'Otarium fera place à un nouveau bâtiment futuriste d'ici 2020. Des informations sur le projet seront données en temps voulu.

 

2018
Explorer, observer, découvrir - équipés de jumelles, d'un plan du zoo et d'un guide de jeu, les petits et grands chercheurs se lancent dans le nouveau - rendu possible grâce à l'engagement d'Energie360° - safari au zoo (18 postes animaliers).

Enrichissement ou technique pour les animaux ; un projet précurseur pour le secteur des zoos ! En collaboration avec des étudiants et des ingénieurs de la HSR Rapperswil, de nouveaux modules d'occupation créatifs seront introduits au cours de la saison chez les girafes (tyrolienne alimentaire), les éléphants (hochet) et les guépards (boule solaire).

Fête d'anniversaire pour pirates, bateau en mer ! L'arche de Noé est devenue le bateau pirate du zoo pour enfants, sans doute l'un des lieux les plus extraordinaires pour fêter un anniversaire inoubliable.

Une journée en tant que gardien d'animaux, c'est ainsi que l'on découvre le quotidien et les travaux de nos gardiens d'animaux en contact direct avec nos animaux, en exclusivité pour 1 personne, y compris la balade à dos d'éléphant, le polo en équipe et une photo souvenir.

Lancement du nouveau système de caisses et de tickets, moderne, actuel et convivial ; désormais, les tickets peuvent en outre déjà être achetés aux distributeurs de tickets PP dans le quartier sud.

Deux nouveaux emplacements PP pour véhicules électriques avec station de recharge seront disponibles à partir du début de l'été 2018 en coopération avec Energie360°.

Le logo de 1962 avec la baleine se présente désormais comme une présence publicitaire visuelle vers l'extérieur dans les couleurs lumineuses remarquables jaune, bleu et rose ; la campagne 2018 se concentre sur l'affichage, la radio et la publicité télévisée dans toute la Suisse, plus une présence dans la presse écrite et en ligne.

Sous la tête d'affiche "reconnaître en famille ce qui a fait ses preuves et découvrir de nouvelles choses", Franco Knie et ses jumeaux Nina&Timothy sont les protagonistes du nouveau spot radio et TV.